2018 Schedules and Routes

Public Works provides weekly curbside trash, recycling, compost and yard waste collection. Only yard waste has limited collection: April 1st through mid-December. The City is divided into five districts, to provide these services throughout the City on a five-day week, Monday through Friday. To get a year-long calendar of your collection services, use the Get Rid of It Right tool below

2018 Holiday Week Pickup Schedule - If the holiday is after your collection day, there is no change to your pickup day. If the holiday is on or before your collection day, collection is one day later. For example, if your trash is usually picked up on Wednesday, it will be picked up on Thursday, etc.


2018 Holidays Date Holiday Pick up will be
New Year's January 1 Monday one day later
MLK Birthday January 15 Monday one day later
President's Day February 19 Monday one day later
Patriot's Day April 16 Monday one day later
Memorial Day May 28 Monday one day later
Independence Day July 4 Wednesday one day later
Labor Day
September 3 Monday one day later
Indigenous Peoples' Day October 8 Monday one day later
Veteran's Day November 12 Monday one day later
Thanksgiving Day November 22 Thursday one day later
Christmas Holiday December 25 Tuesday one day later
New Year's Day 2019 January 1 Tuesday one day later


Wednesday Tuesday

How can we help you? I'd like...

Service Requests

Commonwealth Connect Promo

Cambridge citizen requests, now online & on the go! Report issues here.

FAQ's

Have a question?
Find the answer in our extensive
Frequently Asked Questions

Dept of Public Works

147 Hampshire St
Cambridge MA 02139

Phone:617.349.4800
TDD:617.499.9924

Hours of Service

Monday: 8:30am-8pm
Tuesday-Thursday: 8:30am-5pm
Friday: 8:30am-12pm

Recycling Center Hours
Tuesday & Thursday: 4:00pm-7:30pm  
Saturday: 9:00am-4:00pm