Harleston Parker Medal for Single Most Beautiful Building Presented to Cambridge Public Library


Harleston Parker Award
The Boston Society of Architects officially presented the Haleston Parker Medal Award this week to William Rawn Associates, Architects and Ann Beha Architects for the Cambridge Public Library. City officials were also present for the special ceremony held at the Cambridge Public Library.


Deputy City Manager Richard C. Rossi, City Manager Robert W. Healy, Mayor David Maher, Director of Libraries Susan Flannery, Pamela Hawkes (Ann Beha Architects) and Clifford Gayley (William Rawn Associates, Architects).

According to the Harleston Parker Jury Report, the Cambridge Public Library “exhibits formal beauty as well as beauty of purpose, and the experience of the building as a place is not only beautiful for its form, its building science, its sustainable design, its materials, its program, but also for the vibrant activity and undisputable joy within.”  The Report also cites the project for its democratic openness to the community, as well as the strong civic involvement and close client/architect partnership that led to its success.

The Cambridge Public Library, which reopened in November 2009, includes a striking new glass building of 76,700 square feet joined to the restored 27,200 square foot landmark, designed in 1887 by Van Brunt & Howe and listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The building has capacity for over 275,000 books, 90 computer stations, reservable meeting rooms and a 220-seat auditorium. The project includes an underground parking garage with a 33,000 square foot green roof and the restored Joan Lorentz Park. The new Library building was designed by William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc. (Lead Architect) with Ann Beha Architects (Associate Architect/Historic Building Architect), both of Boston.

Visiting City Hall

Cambridge City Hall

795 Massachusetts Ave
Cambridge MA, 02139
Ph: 617-349-4000
TTY: 617-349-4242

Hours of Service

Monday: 8:30am-8pm
Tuesday-Thursday: 8:30am-5pm
Friday: 8:30am-12pm

City Department Directory

Richard C. Rossi
City Manager

Lisa C. Peterson
Deputy City Manager