License to Carry & FID Cards

The Records Unit accepts and processes applications for a License to Carry (LTC) or Firearms Identification Card (FID) for Cambridge residents or an owner of a business located in Cambridge.  The applicant must provide proof of Cambridge residency or if a Cambridge business owner proof of ownership.  Please review the Application Requirements for LTC/FID Card before submitting the application to the Records Unit.   Current license holders applying for an upgrade must submit a letter stating the reasons for their request. 

Eligibility Requirements for a LTC/FID
The attached Statutory Disqualifiers for a License to Carry/Firearms Identification Card lists permanent disqualifying factors from obtaining a Class A or C firearms license.

New License to Carry Firearms Applicants
All applicants must apply in-person and bring all required documents.  Applications that are not complete will not be accepted.  The application fee for a LTC/FID is $100.00.  The fee for retired law enforcement officers is $25.00.  Applicants applying for a First Issue license will be fingerprinted at the time of submittal.  If a license is issued is it valid for 6 years.  Completed applications should be submitted to the Cambridge Police Department Records Unit during the hours below. 

First Time Applicants:


 Monday   2:00pm - 3:45pm & 5:00pm - 6:45pm
 Tuesday-Thursday  2:00pm - 3:45pm

All first-time LTC/FID applicants are required to attend and successfully complete a Firearms Safety Course presented by a State of Massachusetts instructor.  Review a list of Approved Basic Firearms Safety Courses.  Only active members of the U.S. Military or Massachusetts National Guard are exempt from taking the course.

Download (1) Applicant Personal Information Form AND (2) Commonwealth of Massachusetts Resident LTC/FID Machine Gun Application.  Prior to completing the MA Resident application, the document Important Information on completing the MA Resident LTC Application should be thoroughly reviewed.  Answers on the application are signed under the penalties of perjury for any false answer.  False information will result in your application being denied.  Submit both completed applications along with a copy of the MA Approved Firearms Safety Certificate and all required documents.  Only Original Documents are accepted.

Renewal LTC Applicants
If you are renewing a LTC or FID Card, you may bring the fully completed application documents along with all required documents listed in the Application Requirements License to Carry (LTC)/Firearms Identification Card (FID) to the Police Station Records Unit during the hours listed below.   

Please note these hours are different than the New Applicant/First Issue Hours.

Monday   8:30am - 7:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday  8:30am - 3:45pm
Friday   8:30am - 11:00pm

For further information please contact the Records Unit at 617-349-3336


Text Box: FID (Firearms Identification Card) Class D Self Defense Spray: As of 2014, a Class D FID card is no longer required for Chemical Spray (Pepper Spray)/Self Defense.


Text Box: FID (Firearms Identification Card) Class D Self Defense Spray: As of 2014, a Class D FID card is no longer required for Chemical Spray (Pepper Spray)/Self Defense.


Text Box: FID (Firearms Identification Card) Class D Self Defense Spray: As of 2014, a Class D FID card is no longer required for Chemical Spray (Pepper Spray)/Self Defense.


Visiting CPD

Hours of Service

Monday: 8:30am-8pm
Tuesday-Thursday: 8:30am-5pm
Friday: 8:30am-12pm

Cambridge Police Department

Branville G. Bard, Jr.
Police Commissioner

Email Us with general inquiries about the department or questions about resources/programs offered by the police. DO NOT use this form to submit tips or report crimes in progress.

125 Sixth Street
Cambridge MA 02142

Phone:617.349.3300