School Committee

In addition to serving as the Chairperson of the City council, the Mayor acts as the Chairperson of the School Committee.  The School Committee consists of seven voting members: six elected members and the Mayor.  The School Committee is organized to work with families and the community to successfully educate all of its students at high levels.  The school system will provide all students with a safe and nurturing environment and with a core curriculum that is rich and rigorous and which respects diversity in students’ learning styles.

Visit the School Committee website