license commission

Auction Sale License

Auction at Christies 1808

 

Auction Sale License

Issued by: License Commission

Governed By: Massachusetts General Law (MGL) ch. 100 sec. 10

Process Length: Issued the day of application

Fee: $31 per day license fee for minor sale items; $121 per day license fee for larger items (i.e. oriental rugs, etc.)

Process:

Step 1:

To conduct an auction sale, the applicant is required to submit a letter stating:

  1. when and where the proposed event is to be held
  2. the start and end time
  3. the items to be auctioned
  4. the name of the Massachusetts licensed auctioneer

The applicant must submit a copy of their current Massachusetts State Auctioneer’s license with the letter. The License Commission will review the application and upon approval, the applicant will pay the license fee and the License Commission will issue the license. The License Commission will then forward a copy of the license to the Cambridge Police Department who will conduct an on-site visit.

ireport request city services, report an issue
google translate this page
Cambridge Alert Network Logo

Visiting City Hall

Cambridge City Hall

795 Massachusetts Ave
Cambridge MA, 02139
Ph: 617-349-4000
TTY: 617-349-4242

Hours of Service

Monday: 8:30am-8pm
Tuesday-Thursday: 8:30am-5pm
Friday: 8:30am-12pm

Richard C. Rossi
City Manager
Contact

Lisa C. Peterson
Deputy City Manager
Contact