Alcohol License for one day

Alcohol License - One Day

Issued by: License Commission

Governed By: Massachusetts General Law (MGL) ch. 138 sec. 14 & Cambridge Regulations

Process Length: After all the required documentation is submitted, the license can usually be issued on the same day.

Fee: All Alcohol: $100/day for 1-100 people and $120/day for 100+ people. Beer & Wine: $55/day for 1-100 people and $75/day for 100+ people. Cash (only) payment is paid at the Treasurer’s Office, checks are accepted in our office.

Process for events at Harvard, MIT, & Lesley Colleges

Step 1:

Contact appropriate Campus agency: HARVARD UNIVERSITY Police Dept., LESLEY COLLEGE Security, or MIT Police Dept.

The police departments of Harvard University, MIT, and Lesley College distribute the Party Request/Event Registration form. The applicant should get and complete this form and submit it to the college police department for approval. The applicant needs to provide details of the event: date, start and end time, number of people expected to attend, type of event, contact information, type(s) of entertainment, and alcohol to be provided.

The Dean’s Office must approve the event and sign-off on the Party Request/Event Registration form.

Step 2:

The applicant should submit the completed Party Request/Event Registration form to the License Commission at least three business days before the event. A valid pictureID (MA Driver’s License, MA Liquor ID, U.S. Passport, or a military ID only) must be presented at that time. The License Commission will issue the one-day alcohol license upon their approval, at which time the applicant pays the required fee. The License Commission will conduct a site visit during the event.

Process for events held on non-college premises

Step 1:

EVENT PREMISE:

The applicant must obtain a Letter of Permission from an authorized representative of the event premise.

Step 2:

The applicant should then submit the Letter of Permission with all pertinent information about the event to the License Commission at least three business days before the event. An Event Information Index Card is given to the applicant by the License Commission with the following information about the event: date, start and end time, number of people expected to attend, type of event, contact information, type(s) of entertainment, and alcohol to be provided.

Step 3:

The applicant must submit the Event Information Index Card to the Police Department for their review.

Step 4:

If approved by the Police Department, the applicant will then return to the License Commission with the signed Index card to obtain and pay for the license.

Visiting City Hall

Cambridge City Hall

795 Massachusetts Ave
Cambridge MA, 02139
Ph: 617-349-4000
TTY: 617-349-4242

Hours of Service

Monday: 8:30am-8pm
Tuesday-Thursday: 8:30am-5pm
Friday: 8:30am-12pm

City Department Directory

Richard C. Rossi
City Manager

Lisa C. Peterson
Deputy City Manager