Motorist Laws & Safety Tips

e Motorists must yield to a pedestrian in a
crosswalk on the same half of the road or
approaching from the opposite half of the road
when within 10 feet of the motorist’s lane.

e Motorists may not block a crosswalk and must
slow down for pedestrians.

e Motorists may not open a car door into the
travel lane of a bicyclist or pedestrian.

e DMotorists must yield to Dbicycles and
pedestrians when turning left or right.
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e DMotorists may not cut off a bicycle after
passing, or unsafely overtake a bicycle.

e DMotorists may not unreasonably honk their
horns at bicyclists or pedestrians.

Follow @CambridgePolice

This project is funded by the
Massachusetts Executive Office of
Public Safety and Security.

EOPSS is committed to keeping the
people of Massachusetts informed
about critical public safety issues.

Visit http://www.mass.gov/eopss to
learn more about pedestrian, bicycle,
and moped safety.

“Like” CPD at

www.facebook.com/CambridgePolice

Pedestrian, Bicycle,

it Moped Safety

Cambridge Police Department
123 Sixth Street
Cambridge, MA 02142
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Bicycle Laws & Safety Tips

Bicycles are allowed on all
roadways, except limited
access highways.

Bicyclists must obey all of

the same traffic laws as

motorists, including stopping for red lights and
stop signs, riding on the right side of the road,
and yielding to pedestrians in crosswalks.

Bicyclists, unlike motorists, may ride on the
sidewalk outside of established business districts,
pass on the right side of the roadway, and use
hand signals to indicate their intentions to turn or
stop.

Bicycles are not required to keep to the right, use
designated bike lanes, or ride single file.

No child under the age of 1 may be carried on a
bicycle. Children between 1 and 4 years of age, or
weighing forty pounds or less, must be carried in
a baby seat. Any child 16 years old or younger
must wear a helmet, whether riding a bike or
being carried as a passenger.

From a half hour after sunset until a half hour
before sunrise, all bicycles must have a white light
on the front and a red light or red reflector on the
rear.

Accidents involving bicycles must be reported to
the police if there is personal injury and/or
damage that exceeds $100.

When riding on a roadway, bicycles must be
treated like any other vehicle.

Pedestrian Laws & Safety Tips

Pedestrians must obey all traffic control
signals and the directions of police officers
directing traffic.

Traffic control signals:

“Walk” - pedestrians may proceed across the
roadway.

Flashing “Don’t Walk” - no pedestrian shall
start to cross the roadway, but any pedestrian
who has partially completed crossing may
continue.

Steady “Don’t Walk” - no pedestrian shall start
to cross the roadway.

Pedestrians must use
crosswalks to cross a
roadway if they are within
300 feet of one.

Pedestrians must yield the right of way to
funeral processions and authorized emergency
vehicles, regardless of traffic control signs.

For more information on pedestrians, contact
the Department of Cambridge Community

Development at http://
www.cambridgema.gov/cdd.

Visit the Cambridge Police
Department’s YouTube page at

Moped Laws & Safety Tips

A motorized bicycle (moped) may not be
operated on any roadway by any person under
16 years of age, or at a speed in excess of 25
miles per hour, regardless of the posted speed
limit.

A moped cannot be operated on any roadway
by any person not possessing a valid drivet’s
license or learner’s permit.

Every person operating a moped on a roadway is
subject to the traffic laws and regulations of
Massachusetts.

Moped operators may keep to the right when
passing a motor vehicle and must signal by hand
their intention to turn of stop.

Mopeds may be operated in bicycle lanes, but are
not allowed on off-street recreational bike paths.

Every person operating a moped or riding as a
passenger must wear a helmet approved by the
US. Department of Transportation Federal
Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 218.

Mopeds must be registered if the moped’s motor
is 50 cubic centimeters or less.

A motorcycle license plate is required if the
motor is over 50 cubic centimeters.

For more information on laws relating to
mopeds in  Massachusetts, visit  http://
www.malegislature.cov
Laws/Generall.aws

under Chapter 90, Section

www.youtube.com/CambridgePolice 1B.
for a Public Service Announcement
with information about pedestrian,

bicyclist, and motorist safety.

For more information on bicycle laws in

Massachusetts, visit http://

www.malegislature.gov/Laws/Generall.aws/
under Chapter 85, Section 11B.
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