2020 City of Cambridge Scholarship Recipients Announced

The City of Cambridge announced the recipients of the 2020 City of Cambridge Scholarship. Unfortunately, a ceremony to honor the winners could not be held this year due to the closure of city offices during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

This year, the city awarded 79 scholarships of $3,000 each for a total $237,000 to Cambridge high school seniors and others pursuing higher education. Since the program’s inception in 1993, the city has awarded 1,108 scholarships totaling $2.6 million.

The City of Cambridge gratefully acknowledges the generous contributions of our residents and local businesses to the City of Cambridge Scholarship Fund. We especially want to thank Northern Trust, Divco West, and the Bruce Foundation for their significant contributions to the Scholarship Fund. Thanks also to our Scholarship Committee who volunteer their time year after year to carefully review the applications and select our recipients.

"We are so pleased to be able to assist 79 Cambridge families this year through the City Scholarship Fund,” said Mayor Sumbul Siddiqui and City Manager Louis A. DePasquale in a joint statement. “And although we cannot hold a ceremony this year to congratulate our recipients in person, know that we are very proud of all of you and wish you much success in your academic endeavours. We also want to thank our generous residents and corporate donors who support this fund year after year.”

The 2020 City Scholarship recipients are:
Fizza Ahmed; Sajid Ahsan; Marrae Aiguier; Shaithea Alam; Abderrezzak Alfrid; Lusiana Altidor; Arien Amin; Mickale Andre; Jessica Asare; Jocelyn Beecher; Julia Beecher; Tyler Bennett-Richard; Patricia Berrouet; Nora Cherbuliez-Orzack; Micheline Costa; Maryam Dar; Wenderly Daudier; Jahaira De Jesus Colas; Maria Diaz Rojas; Zev Dickstein; Amine Djellakh; Ashley Dossous; Samantha Duverge Portes; Yasser Elfathy; Enoch Fu; Ivelisse Garcia; Birtukan Gebregziher; Afet Genderovskiy; Rodrienne Georges; Aviva Gould; Sophia Green; Caitlyn Green; Leah Hamilton French; Mahmudul Hasan; Solomon Hearn; Jaqui Hill; Ashraful Hoque; Sarah Ikram; Sahjo Jamanka; Sneha Kc; Roza Khalifa; Lamisha Khan; Ramisa Khan; Anna Kim; Anaka Landrigan; Maria Levit; Jesse Lowe; Luis Maldonado Rezendes; Samuel Marshall; Leonardo Martins; Thomas McGaffigan; Andrew McGaffigan; Jose Moreno De Los Santos; Pauline Nadis; Andy Naranjo; Esrom Negash; Mohamed Niasse; Johanny Nunez; Amira-Ikram Ouadani; Ralph Paul; Mohamed Shajahan; John Shen; Olivia Shirley; Ella Simonsen; Phoebe Smith; David Spitz; Isabel Stern; Paige Swope-Ginley; Sarah Taileb; Lucas Tedesco; Rakeb Tewodros; Ashley Thompson; Grace Thompson; Hannah Thomsen; Cameron Tracy; Nazari Tuyo; Sabira Uddin; Mattingly Wood; and Samuel Zewde.

Page was posted on 5/14/2020 8:17 AM
Page was last modified on 5/14/2020 4:19 PM
Contact Us

How can we help?

Please provide as much detail below as possible so City staff can respond to your inquiry:

As a governmental entity, the Massachusetts Public Records Law applies to records made or received by the City. Any information received through use of this site is subject to the same provisions as information provided on paper.

Read our complete privacy statement

Service Requests

Enter a service request via Commonwealth Connect for things like missed trash pickups, potholes, etc., click here