











Roger Cook, landscape
expert from WGBH hit
shows This Old House

and Ask This Old House.
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% Who We Are
igSafe

MA.ME-NH.-RI.VT

*Private, not-for profit company

*Funded by Member Companies

*Free service for anyone to use

*Located in Wilmington, MA
*Serves 5 New England states

*Clearinghouse




What We Don’t Do




"% The Process

Call 811

!

Dig Safe gathers
info about
upcoming job,

!

- then notifies
member utilities
to mark out their lines







-nforcement

\ Department of Public Utiliti




! -. Penalties

1st Offense 2+ Offenses

MA $1,000 $5,000-$10,000



?

sog) Required

[Rrl® Member Utilities

MA-ME-NH.RI\T

®
A

e Gas

e FElectric

e Telecommunications

e (Cable Television

e Private Water Companies



For What Areas Do
| Have to Call?

On Public or Private

Property



What’s an ‘Excavation’?

The movement or removal of earth,
rock or materials in the ground,
including but not limited to digging,
blasting, augering, backfilling, test
boring, drilling, pile driving, grading,
plowing in, hammering, pulling in,
jacking in, trenching, tunneling and
demolition.. Massachusetts Chapter 82, Section 40



* Tilling Soil for Agricultural Purposes
e Using Hand Tools for Gardening
 Blasting for Quarry

* Dig > 9” to Uncover Septic Tank

* No Depth Exemption

 No Hand Digging Exemption



Hand Tools?

Dig Safe not called before
driving tent stakes into a gas line
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The Law

e Premark area
e Glve advance notice

li:I!-.: —h
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/2 business hours

e Respect the Safety Zone
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Excavators must use non- .
% chanized equipment

when digging within 18
Inches of a marked
underground facility.







aintain the marks




Refresh the Marks Yourself
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Or Call Dig Safe for Remark




Remark Notification

MA 24 Hours




The Law

Ticket Expiration

NH & VT - Every 30 days
Rl & ME —Every 60 days

eMassachusetts?
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Before you hang up..

‘ Electric and
other companies
may not mark
lines they don’t
own or maintain.”




Contract Locators for
Private Facilities

digsafe.com/private locators




Color Code for Marking

ELECTRIC

GAS, OIL, STEAM
COMMUNICATIONS
POTABLE WATER
RECLAIMED WATER
SEWER/DRAINAGE
SURVEY MARKS

PROPOSED EXCAVATION



- If gas line, call 911!

- Call affected utility directly
- Wait for repairs before backfilling

» Submit Violation Report Form



{  Reporting
g4 Violations

e Member Utilities Must Report Damage
e Contractors Should Also Report Damage

e Download Violation Forms at digsafe.com



Document, Document, Document




Dig Safe Ticket

2015 - 23 - 00001

l .

Year Week #Calls




digsafe.com

" Quick-Ticket for new requests and renewals
* Phone App

= Laws and Rules

" The Dirt newsletter

= Order Free Dig Safe items for your crew

* Member companies

* New and Proposed Legislation



(@digsafet

Dig Safe -
Serving
MA, ME, NH, Rl & VT




Lisa Powers ;
Public Relations Director
Dig Safe System, Inc.
781-721-1191 .~
“LPowers(@digsafe.com




