Members Sought for Peace Commission January 2011


If you want peace work for justice

City Manager Robert W. Healy is seeking individuals to fill several vacancies on the Peace Commission . Prospective Commissioners must reside in Cambridge.

The Cambridge Peace Commission promotes peace and social justice within Cambridge and in the wider world. It works to reduce violence and advocates ideas and programs that affirm diversity and build community within our city. It links peace groups, social justice efforts, anti-violence coalitions and the municipal government, and pays special attention to violence affecting youth. The Commission builds community by celebrating local people and efforts with programs and events, and by organizing community forums on issues affecting the community. It supports Cambridge’s sister-city relationships, including those with Yerevan, Armenia and San José Las Flores, El Salvador. For more information about the Commission, see its web page at .

The Peace Commission consists of 20 members who serve three-year terms and are representative of the socioeconomic, racial, and ethnic populations of the City. Members can also be reappointed for an additional three years. Commissioners are expected to attend monthly meetings, participate in planning and organizing the Commission’s events and activities, and to do some work outside of Commission meetings.

Although it is not a requirement for application, it is recommended that applicants attend a Commission meeting to see how it operates. The next two meetings are on January 19 and February 16, 2011. Agendas and other information can be found on its web pages.

A letter of interest with a brief résumé should be sent via e-mail, mail or fax by January 31, 2011 to:

Robert W. Healy, City Manager
City of Cambridge
795 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA  02139
Ph. 617-349-4300
Fax 617-349-4307

Visiting City Hall

Cambridge City Hall

795 Massachusetts Ave
Cambridge MA, 02139
Ph: 617-349-4000
TTY: 617-349-4242

Hours of Service

Monday: 8:30am-8pm
Tuesday-Thursday: 8:30am-5pm
Friday: 8:30am-12pm

City Department Directory

Richard C. Rossi
City Manager

Lisa C. Peterson
Deputy City Manager