Preservation Awards

Preservation Award plaque

Celebrating historic preservation in Cambridge!

Download a nomination form here.

The Cambridge Preservation Awards Program, inaugurated by the Historical Commission in 1997, celebrates outstanding projects and notable individuals who conserve and protect the city’s architecture and history. Awards are given each May for projects completed within the previous calendar year. May is National Preservation Month. 

Seven project categories are eligible for Cambridge Preservation Awards: restoration, rehabilitation, adaptive use, neighborhood conservation, landscape preservation, archaeology, and education/outreach. Awards are based on the following criteria:

  • historical and architectural significance of the property,
  • exceptional quality of the project,
  • extent to which the project contributed to the preservation of the property,
  • impact of the project on the preservation of the city’s historic resources

View slide show of this year's winning projects or download list of project contributors.

Awards were presented on May 31, 2018 at the Mount Auburn Cemetery.
Congratulations to the owners and project contributors on this year's winning projects! 

Preservation Awards

Egyptian-style Entrance Gate—Mount Auburn Cemetery

53 Antrim Street, First Reformed Presbyterian Church

45 Garfield Street

Grays Hall—Harvard University

330 Harvard Street

29 Highland Street

19-21-21½ Inman Street

859 Massachusetts Avenue

115 Mt. Auburn Street, Waverly Hall

246 Norfolk Street

Winthrop House—Harvard University

Anthony C. Platt Award:

56 Highland Avenue

Storefronts-For-All, with the Community Development Department:

100 Kirkland Street, Broadsheet Coffee Roasters

Special Recognition:

50 Years of Just-A-Start

William B. King 
Cambridge Historical Commission member 1973-2017
Chair, 1986-2017

Susan E. Maycock
Cambridge Historical Commission staff, 1968-2018
Survey Director, 1980-2018

For information on the Massachusetts Historical Commission's preservation awards program, click here.