U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Liquor store sign

Apply for an Package Goods Store License

License Commission

Package Goods Store Licenses are issued by the Cambridge License Commission pursuant to and in accordance with the Massachusetts General Laws c. 138, §§ 15, et seq.  The final approval from the Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission is also necessary.  It can take at least eight weeks for the application to be processed and final approvals be received.

How to Start

Step 1:

Go the Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission ("ABCC") website, complete the application on the e-online portal with all required documents attached thereto, and submit it online.  Send an email to License@cambridgema.gov once you have submitted the application.  Attach to your email a completed License Commission Criminal Offender Record Information form (for all owners and the proposed manager of record), and a Licensed Premises Inspection Approval form signed by Inspectional Services providing zoning approval.

Step 2:

If an advertisement is required, you must submit a $175.00 hearing and advertising fee; if no advertisement is required, submit a $100.00 hearing fee.  You must also submit a $10.00 fee per CORI waiver form.

Step 3:

A hearing will be scheduled.  If it was an advertised matter, you must send copy of the advertisement to all legal abutters and schools and churches within a 500 feet radius within three days of being advertised. Prior to or at the hearing, you must submit a Affidavit of Notice to Abutters. 

ADVERTISEMENT- Notice to Abutters

ADVERTISEMENT - Notice to Abutters (Alcohol)

NO ADVERTISEMENT - Notice to Abutters (No Alcohol)

Step 4:

An owner and the manager of record must appear at the hearing before the Board of License Commissioners.  If the Board approves the application, it is submitted to the ABCC for final approval. 

Step 5:

Once final approval is received, you must submit the final sign off from Inspectional Services building department; you must also submit proof of the successful completion of a safe serve alcohol program for all owners, employees who will sell alcohol, and the manager of record.

Step 6:

Once all final required documents are provided to the License Commission, the applicant must submit the annual license fee and the license will issue. 



  • $175 hearing and advertising fee, or $100 hearing fee 
  • $10 for each record check 

The annual license depends on the category of alcohol being sold, see fee schedule. 

Page was last modified on 6/25/2024 8:37 AM
Contact Us

How can we help?

Please provide as much detail below as possible so City staff can respond to your inquiry:

As a governmental entity, the Massachusetts Public Records Law applies to records made or received by the City. Any information received through use of this site is subject to the same provisions as information provided on paper.

Read our complete privacy statement

Service Requests

Enter a service request via SeeClickFix for things like missed trash pickups, potholes, etc.