U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Youth at table

Apply for A Raffle Bazaar Permit

License Commission

Raffle & Bazaar Permit applications are processed by the Cambridge License Commission.  The permits are governed by Massachusetts General Law c. 271, § 7A and the Special Acts of 1969, c. 810. It takes approximately three to four weeks to process the application and issue the permit, if granted. 


A Raffle is an arrangement for raising money by the sale of tickets, certain among which, as determined by chance after the sale, entitle the holders to prizes.

A Bazaar is place maintained by the sponsoring organization for disposal by means of chance of one or both of the following types of prizes: (1) merchandise, of any value, (2) cash awards, not to exceed $250 each.

Eligibility for a License:

Nonprofit organizations in existence for more than 2 years, that are either veterans' organizations chartered by Congress; church or religious organizations; fraternal or fraternal benefit societies; educational or charitable organizations; civic or service club organizations; or a club or organization operated exclusively for pleasure, recreation, and other nonprofit purposes, where no part of the net earnings inures to the benefit of any member or shareholder, may apply to conduct a raffle or a bazaar.

How to Start

Step 1:

The applicant must complete the Raffle and Bazaar Permit application, sign a form stating that funds will not be misused, fill out state lottery papers and submit the application to the Cambridge Police Headquarters for sign off. 

Step 2:

At least two weeks prior to the event, submit the application to the License Commission.

Step 3:

The License Commission will process the application and contact the applicant once the internal processing is finalized.  The applicant must pay the fee and pick up the permit.  


Fee: $10 license fee for one day, and a $60 fee for an annual license.
Page was last modified on 2/15/2024 1:36 PM
Contact Us

How can we help?

Please provide as much detail below as possible so City staff can respond to your inquiry:

As a governmental entity, the Massachusetts Public Records Law applies to records made or received by the City. Any information received through use of this site is subject to the same provisions as information provided on paper.

Read our complete privacy statement

Service Requests

Enter a service request via SeeClickFix for things like missed trash pickups, potholes, etc.